About the award

This is the twelfth time that the Niels Bohr International Gold Medal is awarded to an engineer or a physicist for their outstanding efforts. The prize was established by the Danish Society of Engineers, now IDA, in 1955 as a tribute to the Danish physicist Niels Bohr, who also received the first medal. On this website you can read about the prize, previous winners and this year’s winner – engineer and physicist Jens Kehlet Nørskov.

Niels Bohr Gold Medal

(File photo)

Read more from the festschrift prepared in connection
with the award of the medal in 2013 here.

(Award of the Niels Bohr International Gold Medal to Alain Aspect in 2013. Photo: Henrik Frydkjær)